SEVENTEEN’s Teen, Age Album Review

teen, ageSEVENTEEN’S second full-length album Teen, Age was released on the 6th of November 2017.

The album consists of 13 tracks, including a short intro and outro. For the purpose of this review, I will be looking at all 11 full-length tracks.

The album shows their growth as a newly successful group, including a variety of styles and unit tracks.

  • CHANGE UP: CHANGE UP was first released prior to the album being dropped and features the group’s unit leaders: Hoshi, S.Coups and Woozi. Musically, it is a mix of trap, R&B, pop and EDM with smooth raps and falsetto vocals. Lyrically, the song talks about the effort which the leaders of SEVENTEEN put into the group to help keep them successful, happy and healthy. I didn’t like the song at first, but it has grown on me! 3/5.
  • WITHOUT YOU: Without You has an understated electro-pop sound, slightly reminiscent of the group’s previous track Don’t Wanna Cry. Vernon’s line at 0:35 is probably my favourite part of the song. The song tells the emotional journey of someone who has recently lost a loved one and how they come to accept that they must no change and move on. 3.5/5


  • CLAP: CLAP was the title track of the album. It has a funk pop vibe, mixed with a blues-rock sound and is incredibly catchy. Lyrically, the song is incredibly relatable and uplifting, like the opening line: “It’s alright, it’s alright, these things happen. Things get all tangled up like earphones in your pocket”Overall, this is currently my all-time favourite SEVENTEEN song. 5/5.
  • BRING IT: BRING IT is a duet featuring Hoshi and Woozi. It has a darker, heavier beat and sound than most of the other songs on the album. It has an almost military feel. It’s one of my less favourite songs on the album, as I’m not a massive fan of the beat drop or the flow. 0.5/5


  • LILILI YABBAY: Lilili Yabbay is a song by the Performance Team (aka Hoshi, Jun, Dino and The8). It has an experimental EDM sound. It’s definitely more of a song I would go and see someone dance to than something I would listen to by itself, which I guess is kind of the point? In any case, as a song, not one of my favourites but not bad either. 2.5/5.
  • TRAUMA: TRAUMA is a song by the Hip Hop Team (aka S.Coups, Wonwoo, Mingyu and Vernon). It’s a rap song, but with quite calm and understated rhythms and a singing-rap style chorus. It’s one of my all-time favourite SEVENTEEN songs and is really such a masterpiece. The lyrics talk about each of the members personal traumas and it’s honestly a little bit heart-breaking. 5/5.
  • PINWHEEL: PINWHEEL is a song by the Vocal Team (aka Woozi, Joshua, Jeonghan, Seungkwan and DK). It’s a slow, sweet song perfect for showcasing their honey vocals, but isn’t the most unusual ballad ever. 4/5.


  • FLOWER: FLOWER features Jeonghan, Seungkwan, The8, Wonwoo, Dino and S.Coups. It’s one of the darker, heavier songs on the album, but not nearly as dark as BRING IT. It has a more upbeat and bouncy rhythm and a very catchy vocal chorus. 3/5.
  • ROCKET: ROCKET features Joshua and Vernon, the two members with an American background. Thus, the song is actually about a 50/50 split of Korean and English. It’s a fun, playful and empowering song which talks about just going for things and not bothering about what other people think of you. 4/5.


  • HELLO: HELLO features DK, Mingyu and Jun and I believe it was the last of three songs they wrote quite a while back. It’s a cheesy, poppy love song and whilst it’s not really my thing, it’s not horrible either, just didn’t seem to match the maturity of the other songs on the album. I feel like it would have fit more on one of their earlier albums than on this one. 1.5/5.
  • CAMPFIRE: Campfire feels like a sort of sweet “goodbye until next time” from the group, with a sweet and chill rhythm and muted raps and vocals. It’s a soft caress against the ears and flows nicely like a bubbling brook. 4/5.

Overall, this is my favourite SEVENTEEN album and was one of my favourite albums of 2017 and I definitely recommend you check it out. It was really the album that got me into the group to begin with.

Title Track 5
Variety 4
Cohesiveness 3.5
My Music Taste 3.5
Overall 4

4 microphones out of 5


SEVENTEEN are a South Korean boy group who debuted in May 2015. There are 13 members: S.Coups, Wonwoo, Mingyu, Vernon, Woozi, Jeonghan, Joshua, Seungkwan, DK, Hoshi, Jun, The8, and Dino. They also have a subunit called BSS containing members Seungkwan, DK and Hoshi.

So that’s it for this review! I hope you enjoyed. This was the last in my series of SEVENTEEN posts, so if you’re interested, you can check out my top ten favourite SEVENTEEN songs of all time and my introduction to SEVENTEEN

Also, hey! Sorry I’ve been gone for so long 😦 I was sick and then had to catch up with school work. But now I’m on holiday for a week so I can catch up with blogging again!

What did you think about this album? Let me know in the comments below! 

Do you have a group or artist you love and really want to see me a do a segment on? Let me know and I’ll see what I can do!

Thank you for reading this post today! I hope you enjoyed and found some new music to listen to! Happy listening, Keira x.


For album reviews like this, do you prefer reviews like this, or did you prefer the style I used for the BTS album reviews? Please let me know!


Published by

Keira @Headphones&Hyperboles

Hi! I'm Keira and I'm the author here at Headphones and Hyperboles. It's nice to meet you :) I like to read and listen to music (obviously), but I also really like sleeping, eating chocolate and going out to eat with friends.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.